Drafting services
This industry comprises establishments primarily engaged in drawing detailed layouts, plans and illustrations of buildings, structures, systems or components from engineering and architectural specifications. — Statistics Canada, NAICS 2022A
- Establishments · CanadaA
- 903
- Under 10 employeesA
- 91%
- Establishments · USA
- 2,985
- Employment · USA
- 9,178
- Payroll · USA
- $615M
Size and shape
How many businesses there are and how small they are. Fragmentation is the first thing an entrant — or anyone selling software into this industry — needs to know, and it is one of the few things that is actually measured.
Canadian establishments by number of employeesA
Of 903 Canadian establishments with employees, 91% have fewer than ten — an industry of very small operators.
Where they areA
Largest four provinces by establishment count. Establishments with employees only — sole operators with no payroll are not in this table, so in trades and personal services the true number of businesses is higher.
Measured, not forecast: the share of US establishments opening in one year that were still active later. It counts good operators and bad ones together, which is exactly why it is the honest answer to “what are the odds”. It is for the whole sector rather than this market, and the ten-year figure comes from an older cohort because no younger one has reached ten years.
How businesses here compete
The structural profile of subsector 541, which every industry beneath it inherits. This is analyst judgment from how the subsector is organised — not research into this industry, and not a measurement.
Professional licensing is the barrier and the principal's time is the ceiling. Firms are built from a book of clients, and an aging partner group makes acquisition and succession the common entry.
- Who sets the price
- The firm, by reputation, against hourly-rate comparison.
- The software it runs on
- Practice management, time and billing, and a specialist tool per profession — the densest vertical-software territory in the economy.
Market screens and studies
Market-entry records filed along this branch of the hierarchy. A record at or beneath this code is about this industry; one above it is about something wider that contains it.
Screened one level up. Nothing is filed at this exact code; the screen for 5413 Architectural, engineering and related services covers it.
Autodesk's AECO line alone runs at $3.583B and grew 22%, Trimble's AECO segment adds $1.499B and Bentley carries $1.46B of ARR in infrastructure engineering, and the file formats are the lock — RVT and DGN are read properly only by their owners. An entrant does not compete on features but on interoperability it does not control. Note the sizing here is a floor of $5.1B from Autodesk's and Trimble's disclosed AECO revenue alone, not a market estimate.
The demand is real, large and paid on time by one buyer. The Department of Defense obligated $40.11B of contracts coded to NAICS 541330 in FY2025 [A, USAspending], and $8.81B of it — 22% — went to small businesses [A], so this is not a market sealed shut to anyone under a billion dollars. The mechanism that keeps an ordinary entrant out is that the buyer does not buy from strangers. Booz Allen took about 84% of its FY2026 revenue through 2,426 task orders on IDIQ vehicles [A]: the work is competed among firms already on a vehicle, and getting on one takes past performance on federal contracts that a new firm by definition lacks. Around that sits a stack of eligibility costs paid before the first dollar — personnel and facility security clearances that CACI's 10-K calls 'difficult and time-consuming to obtain' [A], DFARS cost-accounting and audit regimes, and a CMMC third-party cyber certification phasing in from November 2025 to November 2028 that Leidos says decides whether it can bid at all [A]. Scale does not buy much margin either: on FY2025–26 filings operating margin ran from 3.3% at Amentum to 12.3% at Leidos [A, derived], and the primes keep consolidating — CACI paid $2.64B for ARKA in March 2026, Amentum was formed by merging with Jacobs' government business, and KBR is spinning off its mission-technology arm [A]. The reachable lane is therefore a cleared subcontractor or a small-business set-aside holder working under a prime, which is a services firm built around people who already hold clearances and a prime who sponsors them. Canada has the same shape at smaller scale — Calian, the nearest listed Canadian comparable, reported C$774M of FY2025 revenue across defence, health and other lines [A]. Eligibility, not capital, decides it: even a funded entrant waits years for clearances and past performance.
A $12.35B software market in 2026 growing 15.5% a year, and the two ends of it are both closed. Esri holds an estimated 35-40% of it with ArcGIS and does not disclose a revenue figure, so the leader cannot even be sized from filings; beneath it QGIS is a mature, free, OGC-compliant desktop and the open-source stack (PostGIS, GeoServer, Leaflet, MapLibre) sets the price of the core capability at zero. An entrant is squeezed exactly as in enterprise search: free below, an unpriceable incumbent above. Distribution is the harder cut. The paying buyer is a municipality, utility or provincial agency that buys on a multi-year Enterprise Agreement through procurement, and Esri Canada sells that agreement plus its own consulting practice into the same account — the channel and the incumbent are the same organisation. Note what this record is not: 541370 is surveying and mapping SERVICES, and the fragmented implementation layer sitting on top of ArcGIS is a different market with different economics. That layer is a services business, not a software business, and is not screened here.
Two private LIMS houses that have each sold into labs for about forty years hold the top of this market, and validation keeps their customers in place. LabWare (Wilmington, Delaware; founded 1987 and still run by its founder) claims 30,000 laboratories at 2,500 companies in 125 countries, with all R&D in Wilmington [C]. StarLIMS (Hollywood, Florida; founded 1986) belonged to Abbott from 2010 to 2021. Francisco Partners bought it from Abbott in July 2021, terms not disclosed [B, FP release]. On 13 January 2026 Turn/River Capital bought it outright and Francisco Partners exited [B, release], so it has had three owners in five years. StarLIMS claims 1,100+ customers in 2,000+ labs [C]. LabVantage (Somerset, NJ) is the third independent. It is private, has never disclosed an owner, and grew by buying Life Technologies' SQL*LIMS in 2009 [B]. The instrument makers sell LIMS too, and they bundle it with their hardware: Thermo Fisher (SampleManager for QC and manufacturing, Watson for bioanalysis, Core LIMS for R&D), Agilent (SLIMS, from its 2018 Genohm deal), Waters (NuGenesis) and Illumina (Clarity LIMS, for genomics labs; it is not a Revvity product). None of them reports a LIMS revenue line. The R&D notebook side is where the money went: Benchling raised $100M at a $6.1B valuation in 2021 [B, release], and Siemens bought Dotmatics for $5.1B in July 2025, a company expected to earn more than $300M in FY2025 [B, Siemens release]. Siemens does have a lab play, then, but it came through Dotmatics, not Opcenter. At the bottom, CloudLIMS publishes per-user prices: $285 a user a month at 5 users, falling to $42 at 100 users, billed annually [C, pricing page]. LabLynx, CloudLIMS and Kitchener's Scispot (about $10M raised) already serve small labs. The lock-in is the validation, not the software. A pharma QC or GLP lab that switches LIMS has to revalidate the new system under 21 CFR Part 11 or GxP, and an ISO 17025 lab has to show its accreditation body that results stay traceable through the move. Instrument interfaces, specifications and years of audit trail have to be migrated too. Customers stay for decades, which is why both leaders can be thirty-plus years old. How it differs from its neighbours. The clinical-trial and R&D data record covers EDC, CTMS and the R&D cloud, where Benchling and Dotmatics live. This record is the system of record for the sample and the result in testing and QC labs. The food-safety record covers plant-floor safety and FSMA 204 traceability, not the lab that tests the samples. Imaging/PACS is radiology. Clinical lab systems are a separate, hospital-bought market. Epic's Beaker module, Clinisys (Roper Technologies) and Orchard Software, which Clinisys bought from Francisco Partners in July 2025 [B], are listed here only to mark that boundary. Incumbent vulnerability decides it: the two leaders are stable, the instrument makers bundle LIMS with their hardware, and the low end already has vendors that publish their prices.
Software serving this industry
The vertical software markets filed along the same branch — who sells to these businesses and who they would have to displace — and then the generic categories every business buys whatever it does.
Sold across the wider branch
And what every business buys · 33 generic categories
Sold to every industry rather than this one, so they are filed against the software industry's own code. The same few vendors recur across most of them.
Who works here
The occupations employed in Professional, scientific and technical services, most concentrated in it first. The share is measured against the whole sector, not this industry — the published cross-tabulation stops there.
Concentrated in this sectorA
These jobs are mostly done here. An operator in this industry is competing for them against others in the same industry, not against the whole economy.
And the jobs every business has
Found across at least fourteen of the twenty sectors. But note the shape of this industry: 91% of establishments have fewer than ten employees, and at that size most of these roles are one person wearing several hats, or bought in from outside.
Inside this industry
1 row sits directly beneath 54134. Each has a base report of its own.
| Code | Industry | Establishments · CA | What is known |
|---|---|---|---|
| 541340 | Drafting services | 903 | screened at 5413 |
Alongside it, under 5413 Architectural, engineering and related services
| Code | Industry | Establishments · CA | What is known |
|---|---|---|---|
| 54131 | Architectural services | 3,079 | screened at 5413 |
| 54132 | Landscape architectural services | 753 | screened at 5413 |
| 54133 | Engineering services | 11,910 | Defence Services & C5ISR Integration |
| 54135 | Building inspection services | 928 | screened at 5413 |
| 54136 | Geophysical surveying and mapping services | 359 | screened at 5413 |
| 54137 | Surveying and mapping (except geophysical) services | 1,103 | Geospatial & GIS Platforms |
| 54138 | Testing laboratories | 1,439 | LIMS — Laboratory Information Management Systems for Testing, QC and Research Labs |