AEC Design & Engineering Software
The buyer population — Architectural, engineering and related services
Base industry report for 5413 →- Establishments · CanadaA
- 20,474
- Under 10 employeesA
- 75%
- Establishments · USA
- 117,056
- Employment · USA
- 1,663,011
- Payroll · USA
- $164.6B
Of 20,474 Canadian establishments with employees, 75% have fewer than ten — mostly small operators. Each of those is one potential account, before any filter for size or fit.
Entry signal — what decides who wins here
One thing must be trueEntry turns on a single condition that can be named and tested before much is spent. Clear it and this becomes an execution question; fail it and no amount of operating skill helps.
Displace an incumbent the screen found well defended — payments attached to the workflow, data that does not leave, a contract that renews itself. Share here means giving a buyer a reason to break something that currently works, which is a higher bar than being better.
Measured, not forecast: the share of US establishments opening in one year that were still active later. It counts good operators and bad ones together, which is exactly why it is the honest answer to “what are the odds”. It is for the whole sector rather than this market, and the ten-year figure comes from an older cohort because no younger one has reached ten years.
This is not a probability of success, and it is not a verdict on you. No survival probability is published per market, and inventing one would be worse than saying so. What the bar reads is how much of the outcome sits inside an operator's control: green means the hurdles are ones a better operator clears, red means the binding constraint is capital, an asset or a permission rather than execution. Someone arriving with an advantage this screen did not assume can win a market shown in red.
Companies named in this market · 5
The binding constraint — incumbent vulnerability
Autodesk's AECO line alone runs at $3.583B and grew 22%, Trimble's AECO segment adds $1.499B and Bentley carries $1.46B of ARR in infrastructure engineering, and the file formats are the lock — RVT and DGN are read properly only by their owners. An entrant does not compete on features but on interoperability it does not control. Note the sizing here is a floor of $5.1B from Autodesk's and Trimble's disclosed AECO revenue alone, not a market estimate.
The incumbent
Who owns this market and who is coming for it. Fields a screen never reached say so rather than guessing.
Financials & market size — sourced
Figures that came from a filing, a results release or reputable reporting, each carrying its evidence tier.
Market size, derived
Built from the competitor set upward rather than quoted from a forecast. Published TAMs in these categories are frequently reverse-engineered from each other, so any published figure is checked against the vendor arithmetic rather than trusted on its own.
Disclosed revenue from 3 of 4 named vendors. The market is at least this large.
No vendor has both a disclosed revenue and a published share.
Only a revenue floor is known — the true market is larger by whatever the undisclosed vendors earn.
Competitor set · 4 named · 3 disclose revenue
| Name | Revenue | Share | Note |
|---|---|---|---|
| Autodesk (AECO)NASDAQ: ADSKA | $3.6B | — | FY2026 (ended 2026-01-31), 10-K filed 2026-03-03 — AECO revenue from the revenue-recognition disaggregation note; Autodesk has one reportable segment, so this is an end-market split rather than segment revenue |
| Bentley SystemsNASDAQ: BSYA | $1.5B | — | ARR at 31 Dec 2025 — recurring, not GAAP revenue |
| Trimble (AECO)NASDAQ: TRMBA | $1.5B | — | FY2025 (52 weeks ended 2026-01-02), 10-K filed 2026-02-25 — AECO reportable segment revenue; group revenue $3.5873B — Trimble's AECO ('Architects, Engineers, Construction and Owners') has been a reportable segment since the fiscal-2024 reorganisation, which restated 2022-2023 out of the old Buildings and Infrastructure / Geospatial / Resources and Utilities / Transportation structure; 2022-2025 AECO is one comparable series, but it is not continuous with the pre-2024 Buildings and Infrastructure segment. The 10-K discloses ARR only at group level ($2.3923B), not by segment |
| Nemetschek GroupC | not disclosed | — | Not researched for this record |
Startups & challengers
Newer and smaller vendors going at the incumbent — funded challengers first. Named, not researched to the depth of the field above; a company with a page here links to it.
| Company | Stage | What it does | Raised |
|---|---|---|---|
| Monograph | Startup | Project management and fee tracking for architecture and engineering firms | — |
Evidence
Evidence. Incumbent financials on this record ARE sourced (tier A/B, see the financials block). Both AECO citations were re-opened on EDGAR. Autodesk: FY2026 Form 10-K (ended 2026-01-31, filed 2026-03-03) — AECO $3,583M vs $2,937M, total $7,206M; the record's earlier '53% of total' was wrong and is corrected to 49.7%, and 'AECO segment' is relabelled because the segment note states one reportable segment. Trimble: FY2025 Form 10-K (52 weeks ended 2026-01-02, filed 2026-02-25) — AECO segment revenue $1,498.6M vs $1,358.6M. The record's previous 'Trimble AECO ARR $1.577B' could not be found anywhere in that 10-K, which discloses ARR only at group level, so it has been replaced by the GAAP segment figure rather than carried forward. Bentley's ARR line was not in scope here and was not re-opened. The cut factor and reasoning remain analyst judgment and were not tested against customers.
Where the industry talks
The associations, forums and events where people in this trade actually talk shop — where to listen before entering, and where the first customers are found. Each link was opened on the date shown.
Canada's BIM/digital-construction industry body; canbim.com now redirects here; organization, professional and student membership
Canadian chapter of buildingSMART (openBIM/IFC standards); individual and organization members
National architects' body; runs RAIC Connects, a members-only virtual community; no member count on site
Consulting engineering firms, the engineering-side buyers; no member count on site
US BIM industry forum (AGC-affiliated); publishes the Level of Development spec; no member count on site
UK-based trade title on BIM, CAD and AEC software; runs the NXT BLD event
Autodesk's annual Design & Make conference; Sept 15-17, 2026, The Venetian, Las Vegas
Free-membership Autodesk user group with per-product forums (forums.augi.com) and AUGIWorld magazine; blocked automated access
The Autodesk Revit forums and RevitForum.org block automated access; dbei.org (BILT conference) did not respond. r/Revit could not be verified from this network.
The businesses it sells to
Operating-business records filed along the same branch of NAICS — the customers of this software, screened as businesses in their own right.
Other software on this branch
A $12.35B software market in 2026 growing 15.5% a year, and the two ends of it are both closed. Esri holds an estimated 35-40% of it with ArcGIS and does not disclose a revenue figure, so the leader cannot even be sized from filings; beneath it QGIS is a mature, free, OGC-compliant desktop and the open-source stack (PostGIS, GeoServer, Leaflet, MapLibre) sets the price of the core capability at zero. An entrant is squeezed exactly as in enterprise search: free below, an unpriceable incumbent above. Distribution is the harder cut. The paying buyer is a municipality, utility or provincial agency that buys on a multi-year Enterprise Agreement through procurement, and Esri Canada sells that agreement plus its own consulting practice into the same account — the channel and the incumbent are the same organisation. Note what this record is not: 541370 is surveying and mapping SERVICES, and the fragmented implementation layer sitting on top of ArcGIS is a different market with different economics. That layer is a services business, not a software business, and is not screened here.
Two private LIMS houses that have each sold into labs for about forty years hold the top of this market, and validation keeps their customers in place. LabWare (Wilmington, Delaware; founded 1987 and still run by its founder) claims 30,000 laboratories at 2,500 companies in 125 countries, with all R&D in Wilmington [C]. StarLIMS (Hollywood, Florida; founded 1986) belonged to Abbott from 2010 to 2021. Francisco Partners bought it from Abbott in July 2021, terms not disclosed [B, FP release]. On 13 January 2026 Turn/River Capital bought it outright and Francisco Partners exited [B, release], so it has had three owners in five years. StarLIMS claims 1,100+ customers in 2,000+ labs [C]. LabVantage (Somerset, NJ) is the third independent. It is private, has never disclosed an owner, and grew by buying Life Technologies' SQL*LIMS in 2009 [B]. The instrument makers sell LIMS too, and they bundle it with their hardware: Thermo Fisher (SampleManager for QC and manufacturing, Watson for bioanalysis, Core LIMS for R&D), Agilent (SLIMS, from its 2018 Genohm deal), Waters (NuGenesis) and Illumina (Clarity LIMS, for genomics labs; it is not a Revvity product). None of them reports a LIMS revenue line. The R&D notebook side is where the money went: Benchling raised $100M at a $6.1B valuation in 2021 [B, release], and Siemens bought Dotmatics for $5.1B in July 2025, a company expected to earn more than $300M in FY2025 [B, Siemens release]. Siemens does have a lab play, then, but it came through Dotmatics, not Opcenter. At the bottom, CloudLIMS publishes per-user prices: $285 a user a month at 5 users, falling to $42 at 100 users, billed annually [C, pricing page]. LabLynx, CloudLIMS and Kitchener's Scispot (about $10M raised) already serve small labs. The lock-in is the validation, not the software. A pharma QC or GLP lab that switches LIMS has to revalidate the new system under 21 CFR Part 11 or GxP, and an ISO 17025 lab has to show its accreditation body that results stay traceable through the move. Instrument interfaces, specifications and years of audit trail have to be migrated too. Customers stay for decades, which is why both leaders can be thirty-plus years old. How it differs from its neighbours. The clinical-trial and R&D data record covers EDC, CTMS and the R&D cloud, where Benchling and Dotmatics live. This record is the system of record for the sample and the result in testing and QC labs. The food-safety record covers plant-floor safety and FSMA 204 traceability, not the lab that tests the samples. Imaging/PACS is radiology. Clinical lab systems are a separate, hospital-bought market. Epic's Beaker module, Clinisys (Roper Technologies) and Orchard Software, which Clinisys bought from Francisco Partners in July 2025 [B], are listed here only to mark that boundary. Incumbent vulnerability decides it: the two leaders are stable, the instrument makers bundle LIMS with their hardware, and the low end already has vendors that publish their prices.