Vertical software32% entry signalMarket screenStructure decidesentry cost

GovCon Compliance & Clearance Management Software

Prepared 2026-09-09

The buyer population — Defence services

Base industry report for 9111 →
Establishments · CanadaA
13
with employees
Under 10 employeesA
38%
most common size: 500+

Of 13 Canadian establishments with employees, 38% have fewer than ten — an industry where large establishments carry real weight. Each of those is one potential account, before any filter for size or fit.

Entry signal — what decides who wins here

Structure decides
Structure decides One thing must be true Execution decides

The binding constraint is not executional. Being better than the incumbent does not, by itself, get you in — this one is cleared with capital, an asset, or a permission.

What you would have to beat

Raise or borrow the entry ticket, or buy an operator who has already paid it. The barrier is money rather than permission, so it yields to a balance sheet — and an acquisition is usually cheaper than a start.

How it was read
Binding constraintUNVERIFIEDentry cost — Capital — being better does not, by itself, clear it.
Measured inputsUNVERIFIEDnot applied — This is a software market. The industry’s business counts describe its BUYERS, not the market being entered, so they are left out of the signal.

This is not a probability of success, and it is not a verdict on you. No survival probability is published per market, and inventing one would be worse than saying so. What the bar reads is how much of the outcome sits inside an operator's control: green means the hurdles are ones a better operator clears, red means the binding constraint is capital, an asset or a permission rather than execution. Someone arriving with an advantage this screen did not assume can win a market shown in red.

Companies named in this market · 6

The binding constraint — entry cost

The product must be right in a way most SaaS need not be: DCAA-compliant timekeeping and indirect-rate accounting are audited, and CMMC Level 2 obliges the vendor itself to be assessed before a defence contractor may run its data. Deltek and Unanet already carry those certifications. The certification, not the software, is the barrier. Nothing is disclosed here. Every vendor named on this record is private, or sits inside a parent that does not break the line out, so no revenue floor can be built and the market size is genuinely unknown rather than estimated.

I

The incumbent

Who owns this market and who is coming for it. Fields a screen never reached say so rather than guessing.

Incumbent
Deltek Costpoint and Unanet
Scale
The two DCAA-compliant ERP and timekeeping systems most defence contractors are effectively required to use
Challengers
PROCAS, JAMIS, Exostar (identity and CMMC supply chain), Summit 7 and other GCC High integrators
Lock-in mechanism
Not assessed — screened before diligence
Price movement
Not assessed
Is the buyer consolidating?
No
V

The field

Every vendor named on this record, and what each one discloses. Most disclose nothing, which is why the market is not sized.

Competitor set · 4 named · 0 disclose revenue

NameRevenueShareNote
Deltek CostpointC not disclosed — Private; no disclosure
UnanetC not disclosed — Private
PROCAS / JAMISC not disclosed — Private
ExostarC not disclosed — Private

Nobody here publishes revenue. The market is not sized for that reason — an estimate built on nothing would only look like knowledge.

S

Startups & challengers

Newer and smaller vendors going at the incumbent — funded challengers first. Named, not researched to the depth of the field above; a company with a page here links to it.

CompanyStageWhat it doesRaised
Deltek Funded challenger Project-based ERP for government contractors, architects, engineers and agencies —

Evidence

Evidence. UNVERIFIED — screened on analyst judgment. Incumbent names and positions are from general market knowledge and were NOT independently researched for this record; no financials are attached because none were sourced. Verify before acting.

#

Where the industry talks

The associations, forums and events where people in this trade actually talk shop — where to listen before entering, and where the first customers are found. Each link was opened on the date shown.

AssociationCanadaA
Canadian Association of Defence and Security Industries (CADSI)
defenceandsecurity.ca · 1,500 members (2026-09)

Member companies ('1,500 members strong') per its Membership Overview page; the same site elsewhere says '1,700+'. The Canadian defence-contractor trade body.

Checked 2026-09-22
EventCanadaA
CANSEC
defenceandsecurity.ca

CADSI's annual defence and security trade show in Ottawa (CANSEC 2027 next); the site says it draws 21,500+ industry and government attendees. Exhibiting is CADSI-members only.

Checked 2026-09-22
AssociationUSA
National Contract Management Association (NCMA)
ncmahq.org · 20,000 members (2026-09)

Individual members ('over 20,000') per its About page. Contract managers on both the government and contractor side; runs World Congress and Contract Management magazine.

Checked 2026-09-22
AssociationUSC
National Defense Industrial Association (NDIA)
ndia.org

Blocked automated access (Incapsula). Search results show it live with corporate and individual membership tiers and chapter events; the main US defence-industry association.

Checked 2026-09-22
AssociationInternationalA
AFCEA International
afcea.org · 30,000 members (2026-09)

Individual members (30,000, plus 1,700 corporate members and 140 chapters) per its About AFCEA page. Defence IT and cyber contractors; publishes Signal.

Checked 2026-09-22
AssociationUSA
Professional Services Council (PSC)
pscouncil.org

Trade association for US government services contractors; acquisition-policy advocacy and compliance events. No member count on its homepage.

Checked 2026-09-22
AssociationUSA
The Cyber AB
cyberab.org

The CMMC accreditation body; runs the ecosystem of C3PAOs, registered practitioners and the CS5 conference. Any vendor claiming CMMC readiness is assessed through this system.

Checked 2026-09-22
PublicationUSA
Washington Technology
washingtontechnology.com

Trade news for government contractors (Top 100, Fast 50, CMMC coverage); articles dated within the last day. GovCon Wire (govconwire.com) is the other daily.

Checked 2026-09-22

cansec.ca redirects to an unrelated access-control company; CANSEC's real page is on defenceandsecurity.ca. Reddit's r/govcon could not be verified by search or RSS and is omitted.

↔

The businesses it sells to

Operating-business records filed along the same branch of NAICS — the customers of this software, screened as businesses in their own right.

No operating-business record has been written along this branch yet. The base industry report says what the subsector typically runs on.

Other software on this branch

Vertical softwareScreenedsame industry
Defence Mission Command & C5ISR Software — Command and Control, ISR Data Fusion and Battle ManagementStructure decides
binding constraint: entry cost + regulatory drag
Incumbent Palantir Technologies (NASDAQ: PLTR) — Gotham, AIP and the Maven Smart System; US Army enterprise agreement up to $10B

Command-and-control, ISR data-fusion and battle-management software is bought by a handful of defence ministries, mostly through sole-source or prototype vehicles, and the US market has just been written into long-term programmes for two vendors. Palantir is the incumbent: government revenue was $2,402.3M in FY2025 (up 53%), $1.9B of it from US government customers, on $4,475.4M total [A]. Its Maven Smart System began as a $480M five-year IDIQ in May 2024; in May 2025 the Pentagon raised the ceiling by $795M to nearly $1.3B through 2029, with more than 20,000 active users [B]. In August 2025 the Army folded 75 contracts (15 prime, 60 related) into one 10-year Palantir enterprise agreement with a ceiling of up to $10B, removing reseller pass-through fees [B], and a 9 March 2026 Deputy Secretary memo directs that Maven become a formal program of record, with a dedicated budget line and a place in the Future Years Defense Program, targeted before the end of September 2026 [B]. NATO bought a Maven Smart System for Allied Command Operations in March 2025 (NCIA announcement; NCIA returned 403 and was not opened) [C]. The challenger is not a start-up either: Anduril leads the Army's Next Generation Command and Control (NGC2) prototype under a $99.6M, 11-month OTA from PEO C3N (18 July 2025) for the 4th Infantry Division, with Palantir, Govini, Striveworks, Microsoft and others on its team [B]; it raised $5B at a $61B valuation in May 2026 and says revenue doubled to $2.2B in 2025 [B]. The other seats are held by primes and by Europe's sovereign champions: L3Harris (Communication Systems $5,673M, plus national command and control inside ISR) [A], Leidos (National Security & Digital $7,611M) [A], Elbit Systems (C4I and Cyber $930.9M of $7,938.6M, up 16% on command-and-control and radio sales in Europe and Israel) [A], and Systematic of Aarhus, whose SitaWare is the British Army's headquarters C2 (1,400 more licences in 2023 for every brigade and division under Programme THEIA) and which earned EUR 299.6M revenue and EUR 107.6M EBIT in 2024/25, founder-owned and debt-free [A for its own figures]. Funded specialists sit in the gaps: Air (formerly Govini: $150M led by Bain Capital at $1.25B, ~$100M ARR, the NGC2 logistics layer) [B], Vannevar Labs ($75M Series B, 2023) [B], Helsing in Germany (EUR 600M at EUR 12B, June 2025) [B], and Second Front Systems, which sells ATO accreditation itself as a service [B]. Entry cost and regulatory drag decide it. A newcomer needs facility and personnel clearances, Impact Level and FedRAMP authorisations (Palantir lists FedRAMP, IL2, IL4, IL5 and IL6 as risk factors to keep, not to win) [A], ITAR/EAR export control on the software, and an Authority to Operate on each network before a user can log in. The buyer side is concentrating rather than fragmenting: the Army's enterprise agreement and Maven's program-of-record status turn the incumbent into the default, and NGC2 is being competed among teams that already include the incumbent. In Canada the buyer is the Department of National Defence; its Palantir purchases have been small and politically contested (a plan to spend $7.4M a year on Palantir software, which DND said it had 'inadvertently omitted' to announce, July 2026) [B]. CANSEC and CADSI are where Canadian suppliers meet DND, but no Canadian C2 software vendor was found with a disclosed programme. How this differs from its neighbours: 9111-govcon-compliance-and-clearance-management-software is the contractor's back office (DCAA accounting, CMMC); 336410-aerospace-defence-and-space-systems is the hardware-and-platform industry record; this record is the mission software a ministry runs on its own networks. 9131 public-safety CAD/911 is the civilian dispatch analogue and shares no vendors except through Microsoft-class platforms.

NAICS 91118 vendors named12 sourced figuresOpen →