Collections and Recovery Software
The buyer population — Collection agencies
Base industry report for 561440 →- Establishments · CanadaA
- 189
- Under 10 employeesA
- 54%
- Establishments · USA
- 3,092
- Employment · USA
- 106,184
- Payroll · USA
- $5.4B
Of 189 Canadian establishments with employees, 54% have fewer than ten — mostly small operators. Each of those is one potential account, before any filter for size or fit.
Entry signal — what decides who wins here
One thing must be trueEntry turns on a single condition that can be named and tested before much is spent. Clear it and this becomes an execution question; fail it and no amount of operating skill helps.
Displace an incumbent the screen found well defended — payments attached to the workflow, data that does not leave, a contract that renews itself. Share here means giving a buyer a reason to break something that currently works, which is a higher bar than being better.
Measured, not forecast: the share of US establishments opening in one year that were still active later. It counts good operators and bad ones together, which is exactly why it is the honest answer to “what are the odds”. It is for the whole sector rather than this market, and the ten-year figure comes from an older cohort because no younger one has reached ten years.
This is not a probability of success, and it is not a verdict on you. No survival probability is published per market, and inventing one would be worse than saying so. What the bar reads is how much of the outcome sits inside an operator's control: green means the hurdles are ones a better operator clears, red means the binding constraint is capital, an asset or a permission rather than execution. Someone arriving with an advantage this screen did not assume can win a market shown in red.
Companies named in this market · 13
The binding constraint — incumbent vulnerability
What this category is. The system of record for money that is already late: the account and its history, the strategy that decides who is called, texted or emailed and when, the consent and contact-frequency rules that keep that outreach legal, the payment portal and plan, and the hand-off to agencies, debt buyers and lawyers. It is bought by two groups: collection agencies and debt buyers (the coded customer, 561440), and the first-party recovery desks of lenders, telecoms, utilities and hospitals. How it differs from the neighbouring records. The contact-centre record (5614) sells the dialer and agent desktop; Genesys appears here only because it still owns Latitude, a collections system Interactive Intelligence bought for about $14M in 2010 when it earned about $7.8M a year [B]. Healthcare revenue cycle (621) holds claims and patient statements; Finvi's Artiva HCx sits on that border. Core banking (5221) is the ledger a lender's collections system reads from, and loan origination (5222) is the decision at the front of the same loan. This record is the back end of the credit cycle. Who holds it. The enterprise first-party desk is held by C&R Software's Debt Manager, the former FICO collections business that Constellation Software's Jonas group bought in 2021 [A, company history; B, BIIA]; C&R says $8 trillion+ of balances are managed on Debt Manager as a system of record [C]. Experian sells PowerCurve Collections as a module of its decisioning platform [A, product page]. In Europe, EXUS (London, since 1989, 50+ countries) and Qualco (the technology arm of the Greek Qualco Group) are the comparable platforms [C]. The agency side is held by Finvi, the former Ontario Systems, which renamed itself in October 2021 and bought Katabat, a cloud first-party platform, in August 2021 to reach what it called a $2.5B+ first-party market [A for the deals, C for the figure]; and, for small agencies, by Collect! from Comtech Systems in Victoria, BC, which says 1,400+ companies in 40 countries use it, since 1988 [C]. The challengers mostly became agencies. TrueAccord, the best-known digital-first entrant (founded 2013, about $35M raised by its 2017 Series B led by Arbor Ventures [B]), describes itself as 'a full-service digital-first debt collection agency' and lists its state licences [A, own site]. InDebted (Sydney) is also a licensed collector; it bought the Hamburg collections-decisioning software Receeve in December 2024 to sell white-label software to banks alongside its own collecting [A]. That is the pattern: the AI-and-digital wedge was taken years ago, and the firms that took it earn contingency fees, not licence fees. The pure-software challengers are Symend (Calgary; behavioural-science engagement for telecoms, banks and utilities; about C$184M raised: C$73M Series B in 2020, a C$54M extension in February 2021 and C$54M more in November 2022, all led by Inovia, then a 25% staff cut in March 2023 [B]), Prodigal (Mountain View; AI agents for servicing and collections; $12M Series A led by Menlo Ventures in 2021 [A]), Credgenics (Noida; $50M Series B led by WestBridge and Accel in August 2023 at a $340M valuation [A]) and collectAI (Hamburg, owned by Aareal Bank Group since 2022 [B]). Regulation is a moat for the incumbents, not an opening. In the US, Regulation F (12 CFR 1006) sets rules for communications, harassment and electronic contact by FDCPA debt collectors [A, CFPB]; in Ontario, no one may carry on the business of a collection agency unless registered under the Collection and Debt Settlement Services Act [A, e-Laws], and every province has its own regime. Each rule change is a release the installed vendor ships to all its customers at once. Incumbent vulnerability decides it. The enterprise desk sits with a Constellation subsidiary that holds what it buys, Experian, and two European specialists; the agency desk sits with Finvi and Collect!; and the digital entrants with the most capital chose to be collectors themselves. A new vendor would sell to an agency industry that is consolidating, against contracts that hold years of account history and compliance configuration.
The incumbent
Who owns this market and who is coming for it. Fields a screen never reached say so rather than guessing.
The field
Every vendor named on this record, and what each one discloses. Most disclose nothing, which is why the market is not sized.
Competitor set · 10 named · 0 disclose revenue
| Name | Revenue | Share | Note |
|---|---|---|---|
| C&R SoftwareA | not disclosed | — | Debt Manager (formerly FICO Debt Manager; built as Titanium in 2007 by CR Software, founded 1984). FICO's Collection and Recovery business (Debt Manager, Platinum, RMS, Placement Optimizer, PlacementsPlus) was sold to Constellation's Jonas Software in 2021. Fairfax, Virginia; offices in Bengaluru, Nagpur, Vilnius and Santiago. Bought SpringFour (2024). Says $8 trillion+ managed on Debt Manager [C] |
| FinviA | not disclosed | — | Ontario Systems until 4 October 2021. Products: Velosidy (SaaS for agencies, GA September 2024), Artiva HCx (healthcare revenue cycle), Katabat (first-party lenders; acquired 23 August 2021), Simplicity (small agencies). Private; no revenue published |
| ExperianA | not disclosed | — | PowerCurve Collections, a module of the PowerCurve decisioning platform; a bureau that also sells the data collectors buy. Not broken out |
| EXUSC | not disclosed | — | EXUS Financial Suite for banks, lenders, car finance and utilities; London HQ; says founded 1989, 9,500+ users in 50+ countries [C] |
| QualcoC | not disclosed | — | Qualco Technology, the technology arm of the Greek Qualco Group: collections and recoveries, loan management and an agentic-AI collections product (Agenly); says clients in 30+ countries [C] |
| Collect!C | not disclosed | — | Comtech Systems Inc., Victoria, BC. Agency and first-party collection software with client and consumer portals; says 1,400+ companies, 40 countries, since 1988 [C] |
| GenesysB | not disclosed | — | Owns Latitude (Latitude by Genesys), bought by Interactive Intelligence in 2010 for ~$14M cash on ~$7.8M trailing revenue [B]; Genesys later absorbed Interactive Intelligence. A legacy line next to its contact-centre business (see the 5614 contact-centre record) |
| TrueAccordB | not disclosed | — | Digital-first collections, founded 2013; corporate HQ Lenexa, Kansas (Kansas City). Describes itself as a full-service debt collection agency with state licences, not a software vendor. $22M Series B led by Arbor Ventures (2017), ~$35M total then [B]; later rounds not confirmed from a primary page |
| InDebtedA | not disclosed | — | Sydney-based digital collector operating in the US, Canada, Australia, NZ, Mexico, UK and UAE. Bought Receeve (Hamburg, founded 2019) in December 2024 to sell white-label collections software to banks [A]. Funding total not confirmed from a primary page |
| SymendB | not disclosed | — | Calgary. Behavioural-science and AI engagement for delinquent customers of telecoms, banks and utilities (TELUS is a named client). C$73M Series B (2020), C$54M extension (Feb 2021), C$54M (Nov 2022), all led by Inovia; cut 25% of staff in March 2023 [B] |
Nobody here publishes revenue. The market is not sized for that reason — an estimate built on nothing would only look like knowledge.
Startups & challengers
Newer and smaller vendors going at the incumbent — funded challengers first. Named, not researched to the depth of the field above; a company with a page here links to it.
| Company | Stage | What it does | Raised |
|---|---|---|---|
| Credgenics | Funded challenger | Noida: collections platform for Indian banks, NBFCs and fintechs; $50M Series B led by WestBridge and Accel (Aug 2023), $340M valuation | — |
| Prodigal | Funded challenger | Mountain View: AI agents and agent co-pilot for loan servicing and collections; $12M Series A led by Menlo Ventures (2021) | $12m |
| collectAI | Startup | Hamburg: AI dunning and receivables communication for retail, utilities and insurers; Otto Group sold it to Aareal Bank Group in 2022 | — |
Evidence
Evidence. Pages opened 2026-10-20. Tier A, opened: C&R Software's company history (CR Software 1984; Titanium 2007 renamed Debt Manager; acquired by Jonas Software, a Constellation subsidiary, 2021) and contact page (Fairfax, Virginia); Finvi's releases on the Ontario Systems rename (4 October 2021) and the Katabat acquisition (23 August 2021); InDebted's release on Receeve (10 December 2024); Experian's PowerCurve Collections page; Credgenics' Series B release; Prodigal's Series A post; the CFPB's Regulation F page (12 CFR 1006); Ontario e-Laws, Collection and Debt Settlement Services Act s. 4(1); TrueAccord's contact page (agency licences, Lenexa HQ). Tier B, opened: BIIA on FICO's sale of its Collection and Recovery business to Jonas (May 2021, product list); Banking Dive on C&R's SpringFour purchase and Constellation ownership; destinationCRM on Interactive Intelligence's ~$14M Latitude purchase (October 2010, ~$7.8M trailing revenue); SiliconANGLE on TrueAccord's $22M Series B (2017); BetaKit on Symend's C$54M extension (February 2021, citing the C$73M Series B and about C$130M total to date) and its 25% cut (March 2023); The Logic and Osler on Symend's November 2022 round (US$40M / $54M); CMS on Aareal Bank Group's purchase of collectAI (March 2022). Tier C: every vendor's own customer, country and balance counts (C&R $8 trillion+, Collect! 1,400+ companies, EXUS 9,500+ users, Symend 250M+ delinquencies cured, Credgenics 100M+ loan accounts) and Finvi's $2.5B+ first-party market figure. Not sourced, stated plainly: market size and vendor revenue are UNVERIFIED — no collections-software vendor publishes revenue; C&R and Experian report inside parents that do not break the line out. Latitude by Genesys has no current product page on genesys.com and latitudebygenesys.com did not resolve, so whether it is still sold is unconfirmed (TrustRadius calls it legacy, from search only). Debtrak's robots.txt bars ClaudeBot and was not opened. TransUnion's robots.txt returned 403; fico.com served a near-empty page. TrueAccord's and InDebted's later funding (beyond the rounds above) appears only on aggregators and is not used. Ontario Systems became Finvi, not Experity (an urgent-care software company), and Katabat went to Ontario Systems, not EXUS.
Where the industry talks
The associations, forums and events where people in this trade actually talk shop — where to listen before entering, and where the first customers are found. Each link was opened on the date shown.
Trade association for debt buyers, collection agencies, law firms and suppliers; runs a business certification programme and a member roster
News and compliance coverage of the accounts receivable management industry; weekly recap dated week of October 12, 2026
Daily trade news on collections: FDCPA, TCPA and FCRA compliance, debt buying, healthcare, technology
ACA International's site returned 403 and is not listed. The Canadian Society of Collection Agencies could not be confirmed (csca.ca is an unrelated organisation) and the Receivables Management Association of Canada site did not resolve. Reddit bars crawlers. The Collect! user conference is a vendor event and is not listed.
The businesses it sells to
Operating-business records filed along the same branch of NAICS — the customers of this software, screened as businesses in their own right.
No operating-business record has been written along this branch yet. The base industry report says what the subsector typically runs on.