Book Publishing House
The industry — Book publishers
Base industry report for 513130 →- Establishments · CanadaA
- 420
- Under 10 employeesA
- 78%
Of 420 Canadian establishments with employees, 78% have fewer than ten — an industry of very small operators.
Entry signal — what decides who wins here
Execution decidesThe hurdles here are ones a better operator clears. That is not a promise of success — it is the absence of a structural reason you cannot win.
Find something that compounds. Entry is achievable and so is the first customer; what is missing is a reason the next entrant cannot repeat it as easily as you did.
Measured, not forecast: the share of US establishments opening in one year that were still active later. It counts good operators and bad ones together, which is exactly why it is the honest answer to “what are the odds”. It is for the whole sector rather than this market, and the ten-year figure comes from an older cohort because no younger one has reached ten years.
This is not a probability of success, and it is not a verdict on you. No survival probability is published per market, and inventing one would be worse than saying so. What the bar reads is how much of the outcome sits inside an operator's control: green means the hurdles are ones a better operator clears, red means the binding constraint is capital, an asset or a permission rather than execution. Someone arriving with an advantage this screen did not assume can win a market shown in red.
Companies named in this market · 6
The binding constraint — defensibility
Starting a book publisher costs almost nothing, and the largest houses say so. News Corp's own annual report warns that HarperCollins faces competition from 'new entrants as barriers to entry in book publishing are low' [A], and Amazon's Kindle Direct Publishing puts a book on sale worldwide in 72 hours at up to a 70% e-book royalty [A]. Canada has 420 book publishers with employees, 248 of them with one to four people [A]. The market is not shrinking either: US publishers took an estimated $33.4B in 2025, up 2.5% [B], and Canadian operating revenue reached $1.7B in 2024, up 3.1% on 2022 [A]. The cut is who keeps a book that works. Publishing is a portfolio of bets, and the profit sits in the backlist — 62% of HarperCollins' consumer revenue [A]. A small house that finds a writer cannot stop a bigger house from offering the next contract. That contest is what the US Justice Department litigated: it sued to stop Penguin Random House buying Simon & Schuster, and in October 2022 the court ruled for the DOJ [A, Paramount's 10-K]; press coverage puts the market at stake as the publishing rights to anticipated top-selling books [B]. The scale players' margins show what the portfolio is worth: Penguin Random House earned €704M operating EBITDA on €4,981M revenue in 2025 (14.1%) [A]. Canada's industry earned 5.8%, its lowest margin since comparable data began in 2014 [A]. Simon & Schuster then sold to KKR for $1.62B, about 1.4 times its last full-year revenue [A]. That price is for a catalogue, not for a company that is easy to start. Entry is real only as a niche list the majors do not bid on: regional, academic, faith or a Canadian-rights list. Defensibility decides it, not cost.
Publishers buy and sell rights by territory and language, and compete for authors and retail shelf space in each rights market. The Big Five operate in many such markets at once; a new house competes in one. US and Canadian figures below are separate markets and must not be added together.
Who you would be competing with
The operators already at scale here, and whoever is buying these businesses. In most of these industries the competition an entrant meets is local, so this is who sets the terms rather than a list of everyone in the trade.
Financials & market size — sourced
Figures that came from a filing, a results release or reputable reporting, each carrying its evidence tier.
Market size, derived
Built from the competitor set upward rather than quoted from a forecast. Published TAMs in these categories are frequently reverse-engineered from each other, so any published figure is checked against the vendor arithmetic rather than trusted on its own.
Disclosed revenue from 2 of 8 named vendors. The market is at least this large.
No vendor has both a disclosed revenue and a published share.
Only a revenue floor is known — the true market is larger by whatever the undisclosed vendors earn.
Competitor set · 8 named · 4 disclose revenue
| Name | Revenue | Share | Note |
|---|---|---|---|
| Penguin Random HouseA | €5.0BEUR | — | 2025, Bertelsmann division results; wholly owned by Bertelsmann since April 2020 |
| Lagardère Publishing (Hachette Livre)EPA: MMBA | €3.0BEUR | — | 2025, Lagardère Publishing division; Hachette Book Group is its US house (not verified in a filing opened for this record) |
| HarperCollinsNASDAQ: NWSAA | $2.3B | — | fiscal year ended 30 June 2026, News Corp Book Publishing segment; News Corp's 10-K calls it the second-largest consumer book publisher in the world by global revenue |
| ScholasticNASDAQ: SCHLA | $1.6B | — | fiscal year ended 31 May 2026; children's books and PreK-12 |
| Simon & SchusterA | not disclosed | — | Owned by KKR affiliates since 30 October 2023 ($1.62B). It publishes no revenue now; its last full year under Paramount, 2022, was $1,177M. |
| Macmillan PublishersC | not disclosed | — | Holtzbrinck's consumer-books group (Macmillan Publishers, Pan Macmillan); Holtzbrinck is private and publishes no segment revenue. |
| Amazon Kindle Direct PublishingNASDAQ: AMZNB | not disclosed | — | Self-publishing platform: up to 70% e-book royalty, on sale in 72 hours; also the largest retail customer. Online retail was $12.3B of US publisher revenue in 2025 (AAP). |
| The small-press majorityA | not disclosed | — | 326 of Canada's 420 book publishers employ fewer than 10 people (Statistics Canada, December 2023); the Association of Canadian Publishers represents about 115 Canadian-owned houses. |
EUR figures are shown in their own currency and are left out of any total below — converting them at today's rate would put a spot rate under a full year of trading.
Evidence
Evidence. Tier A, opened in the original document: Statistics Canada's Daily release 'Book publishing industry, 2024' (5 February 2026) and the business count (table 33-10-0806-01, December 2023); Bertelsmann's full-year 2025 and first-half 2026 results releases on bertelsmann.com; News Corp's 10-K for the year ended 30 June 2026 (filed 7 August 2026), which is the current filing; Lagardère's full-year 2025 results release (19 February 2026); Scholastic's 10-K for the year ended 31 May 2026; Paramount Global's 8-K of 7 August 2023 and its 10-Ks for 2022 and 2023, which give the PRH sale, the DOJ suit (November 2021), the October 2022 ruling for the DOJ, the termination in November 2022 with a $200M termination fee to Paramount, and the 30 October 2023 KKR sale at $1.62B with a $695M pretax gain. The imprint lineage is Penguin Random House's own company-history timeline (global.penguinrandomhouse.com): Alfred A. Knopf founded 1915; Random House acquired Alfred A. Knopf, Inc. for $3 million in 1960; Bertelsmann bought 100% of Random House from Advance Publications in 1998; the Knopf Publishing Group was renamed the Knopf Doubleday Publishing Group (2008 on the timeline) when the Doubleday and Nan A. Talese imprints were added; Bertelsmann became sole PRH shareholder in April 2020 by buying Pearson's remaining 25%. The Kindle Direct Publishing terms are from kdp.amazon.com; KDP's homepage also states Kindle+ author earnings of $69.3M for September (company claim, tier C). Tier B: the AAP StatShot figures were read on the AAP's own release (10 August 2026), but they are an Industry Insights model built from publisher submissions, Census data and extrapolation, so they are tiered B. The press reported the DOJ's statement and the $2.2B proposed PRH–S&S price; justice.gov served a bot challenge and was not read, so neither is on this record. Hachette Book Group's place inside Lagardère Publishing and the Louis Hachette Group parent: the parent is named in Lagardère's 2025 release; HBG's own homepage does not state its owner, so that link is tier C. Not sourced: Macmillan's revenue (Holtzbrinck is private and publishes no segment figures on holtzbrinck.com; us.macmillan.com bars all crawlers); Ingram's size (ingramcontent.com bars ClaudeBot, so it was not opened); BookNet Canada's sales data (its site was opened but no figure was taken); Amazon's share of book sales (not disclosed). News Corp's 10-K also records that in July 2026 a class-action settlement with Anthropic PBC, covering HarperCollins as a class member, received final court approval; it is noted here as a fact found, with no gain yet recognized. The 1.4× price-to-revenue multiple is arithmetic on two tier-A figures. The cut factor, defensibility, is analyst judgment.
Where the industry talks
The associations, forums and events where people in this trade actually talk shop — where to listen before entering, and where the first customers are found. Each link was opened on the date shown.
Publishes the StatShot Annual; 2025 report released 10 August 2026.
'Approximately 115 Canadian-owned and controlled book publishers' per homepage; opened its Certified Canadian Publisher program 26 August 2026.
Non-profit founded 2002 that builds technology, standards and sales data for the Canadian book industry; publishes research such as AI use in the book industry 2026.
Quill & Quire and the Association nationale des éditeurs de livres were not checked.
Software serving this industry
Vertical software markets filed along the same branch of NAICS — who sells to these businesses, and who an entrant would have to displace.