Vertical software45% entry signalMarket screen3 sourced figuresOne thing must be trueincumbent vulnerability

Specialty Retail POS & Inventory Software

Prepared 2026-09-09

The buyer population — Sporting goods, hobby and musical instrument retailers

Base industry report for 4591 →
Establishments · CanadaA
5,814
with employees
Under 10 employeesA
62%
most common size: 1–4

Of 5,814 Canadian establishments with employees, 62% have fewer than ten — mostly small operators. Each of those is one potential account, before any filter for size or fit.

Entry signal — what decides who wins here

One thing must be true
Structure decides One thing must be true Execution decides

Entry turns on a single condition that can be named and tested before much is spent. Clear it and this becomes an execution question; fail it and no amount of operating skill helps.

What you would have to beat

Displace an incumbent the screen found well defended — payments attached to the workflow, data that does not leave, a contract that renews itself. Share here means giving a buyer a reason to break something that currently works, which is a higher bar than being better.

How it was read
Binding constraintUNVERIFIEDincumbent vulnerability — Executional — a better operator can move it.
Measured inputsUNVERIFIEDnot applied — This is a software market. The industry’s business counts describe its BUYERS, not the market being entered, so they are left out of the signal.
How many new establishments are still tradingA
Retail Trade, US · opened 2020
88%
1 year
72.3%
3 years
59.8%
5 years
44.2%
10 years
opened 2015

Measured, not forecast: the share of US establishments opening in one year that were still active later. It counts good operators and bad ones together, which is exactly why it is the honest answer to “what are the odds”. It is for the whole sector rather than this market, and the ten-year figure comes from an older cohort because no younger one has reached ten years.

This is not a probability of success, and it is not a verdict on you. No survival probability is published per market, and inventing one would be worse than saying so. What the bar reads is how much of the outcome sits inside an operator's control: green means the hurdles are ones a better operator clears, red means the binding constraint is capital, an asset or a permission rather than execution. Someone arriving with an advantage this screen did not assume can win a market shown in red.

Companies named in this market · 4

The binding constraint — incumbent vulnerability

Lightspeed and Shopify both monetise payment volume rather than the licence, so the software price floor is effectively zero for any entrant that cannot process payments — and processing means underwriting, chargebacks and a regulated money-movement stack before the first customer. The same payments-attach wall the restaurant and salon records hit. Sourced update: the arithmetic is now explicit. Lightspeed's subscription line is $370.7M of $1.227B — under a third — against $98.1B of payment volume. The software is the hook and the volume is the business, which is exactly what an entrant with no payments licence cannot replicate.

Angel-backed companies6
in the Canadian portfolio dataset
Province mixON 2, SK 1, — 1, MB 1, AB 1

Sectors joined: Mobile Commerce · E-commerce · Retail Analytics · AI Retail

[UNVERIFIED] Sector-to-NAICS mapping is analyst judgment — see data/angel-sector-map.json. Counts are a per-record cross-reference and are not additive across records.

I

The incumbent

Who owns this market and who is coming for it. Fields a screen never reached say so rather than guessing.

Incumbent
Lightspeed Commerce (TSX/NYSE: LSPD, Canadian — Montréal)
Scale
FY2026 revenue $1.227B, +14%, of which subscription is only $370.7M, +8%; GTV processed $98.1B, up from $91.3B
Share
No published share; GTV is the position that matters — the software is priced to win payment volume
Challengers
Shopify POS (Canadian — Ottawa), Square, Heartland Retail, Rain, Ascend (bike retail)
Lock-in mechanism
Not assessed — screened before diligence
Price movement
Subscription grew 8% while total revenue grew 14% — the transaction line is outgrowing the licence, which is the whole point
Is the buyer consolidating?
No
F

Financials & market size — sourced

Figures that came from a filing, a results release or reputable reporting, each carrying its evidence tier.

Lightspeed revenue, FY2026A $1.227B, +14% YoY
Lightspeed subscription revenue, FY2026A $370.7M, +8% — 30% of total
Lightspeed GTV, FY2026A $98.1B, from $91.3B (+7%)
$

Market size, derived

Built from the competitor set upward rather than quoted from a forecast. Published TAMs in these categories are frequently reverse-engineered from each other, so any published figure is checked against the vendor arithmetic rather than trusted on its own.

Revenue floor
$1.2B

Disclosed revenue from 1 of 2 named vendors. The market is at least this large.

Implied total — revenue ÷ share
—

No vendor has both a disclosed revenue and a published share.

Published forecast
—Floor only

Only a revenue floor is known — the true market is larger by whatever the undisclosed vendors earn.

Competitor set · 2 named · 1 disclose revenue

NameRevenueShareNote
Lightspeed CommerceTSX/NYSE: LSPDA $1.2B — FY2026 revenue; subscription is $370.7M of it and the rest is transaction-based
Shopify POS / SquareC not disclosed — Not separately disclosed at specialty-retail level
S

Startups & challengers

Newer and smaller vendors going at the incumbent — funded challengers first. Named, not researched to the depth of the field above; a company with a page here links to it.

CompanyStageWhat it doesRaised
Lightspeed Funded challenger POS and commerce platform for retailers, restaurants and golf —
Shopify Funded challenger Ecommerce and POS platform for merchants with built-in payments and lending —
Bottle POS Scrappy competitor Point of sale and inventory for liquor, wine and beer stores —

Evidence

Evidence. Incumbent financials on this record ARE sourced (tier A/B, see the financials block). The cut factor and reasoning remain analyst judgment and were not tested against customers.

#

Where the industry talks

The associations, forums and events where people in this trade actually talk shop — where to listen before entering, and where the first customers are found. Each link was opened on the date shown.

AssociationCanadaC
Retail Council of Canada (RCC)
retailcouncil.org

National retail association; runs the STORE conference and co-produces The Voice of Retail podcast. Blocked automated access (403).

Checked 2026-09-22
AssociationUSA
National Retail Federation (NRF)
nrf.com

US retail trade association; runs Retail's Big Show and the Retail Gets Real podcast.

Checked 2026-09-22
EventCanadaA
RCC STORE Conference
storeconference.ca

Retail Council of Canada's annual national retail conference and Excellence in Retailing Awards.

Checked 2026-09-22
EventUSA
NRF: Retail's Big Show
nrfbigshow.nrf.com

NRF's annual January show in New York; the main expo where POS and retail-tech vendors sell to retailers. Next edition NRF 2027.

Checked 2026-09-22
PodcastCanadaA
The Voice of Retail
podcasts.apple.com

Weekly Canadian retail podcast hosted by Michael LeBlanc, produced with Retail Council of Canada; latest episode 4 days old at check.

Checked 2026-09-22
PublicationCanadaA
Retail Insider
retail-insider.com

Canadian online retail industry publication; articles dated September 22, 2026 at check. Direct curl blocked; read via fetch proxy.

Checked 2026-09-22

No independent forum where specialty retailers discuss POS was found; vendor forums (Shopify Community, Lightspeed) were left out.

↔

The businesses it sells to

Operating-business records filed along the same branch of NAICS — the customers of this software, screened as businesses in their own right.

No operating-business record has been written along this branch yet. The base industry report says what the subsector typically runs on.

Other software on this branch

Vertical softwareScreenedsame industry
Firearms Dealer (FFL) Compliance & Gun Shop POS Software — Electronic Bound Book, e4473 and Range/Retail POSOne thing must be true
binding constraint: willingness to pay
Incumbent No single incumbent. Compliance layer: FastBound (compliance-only, integrates with most POS) and Orchid Advisors (eBound with POS and payments). Store-system layer: Celerant, Gearfire (AXIS, GPOS) and Bravo Store Systems

Gun-shop software is two products sold to one small, fixed set of licensed buyers: a compliance record (the electronic acquisition & disposition bound book, the electronic Form 4473 and the background-check step) and a store system (POS, serialized inventory, layaway, trades, range lanes, e-commerce). The compliance record is cheap — FastBound starts at $9 a month, FFL Boss at $19, Gun StoreMaster up to $50, and one competitor is free — and the store system is where the money is, collected the way the specialty-retail record found it: through payments. The buyer pool. ATF's own rulemaking counts 128,960 active FFLs of all types in FY2024, and in a narrower count 79,378 licensees, only 13,729 of them licensed before 2006 [A] — so most dealers are young, small and often home-based. In Canada, the RCMP counts 3,766 licensed firearms businesses at the end of 2025, of which 1,359 sell ammunition only, leaving 2,407 full business licences [A]. Neither number grows with the economy; both are set by licensing. The compliance layer is held by specialists. FastBound (Folsom, California; since 2010) sells compliance only — 'We don't sell Point of Sale. We don't process payments' — and integrates with dozens of POS, ERP and e-commerce systems, including Celerant, Gearfire, Lightspeed, Defender POS, MicroBiz, NCR Counterpoint and Shopify; it pairs the software with funded legal defense through the FFLGuard law-firm programme and claims more than one billion transactions for thousands of FFLs [C]. Orchid Advisors (eBound, POS, payments) is the other long-standing name; its site bars Claude and it was not opened, so it is named from a 2019 release that called it a sister company of Gearfire and Retail Technology Group [B]. The store-system layer is held by firearms-specific suites and one general retail vendor. Celerant (Iselin, New Jersey; established 1999; 220 employees) sells Stratus and Cumulus with gun-shop, range and class modules and says it has been an NSSF-recommended POS provider for close to 20 years [C]. Gearfire (Scottsdale, Arizona; since 2012) now sells both AXIS, the range-and-retail POS built by Retail Technology Group of Minnesota, and a new cloud POS (GPOS, August 2026) that integrates FastBound for the bound book [B], plus e-commerce with a 150,000-item catalog and 'firearm-friendly payments' — its homepage names being 'de-platformed' as a risk dealers face [C]. Bravo Store Systems (Las Vegas; 2011) bundles pawn, gun-store and range POS with the 4473 and A&D book and says it runs 3,300+ stores in the US and Canada and has processed over 1 million e4473 forms [C]. Lightspeed (Montréal) reaches gun shops only as a general retail POS that FastBound integrates with; its economics are on the 4591 specialty-retail record. Regulation sets the product and is moving. The 2022 frame-or-receiver rule made FFLs keep A&D records and Forms 4473 until licensed activity is discontinued (previously 20 years for dealers) and noted that electronic storage existed only under ATF Rulings 2016-1 and 2016-2 [A]. In May 2026 ATF proposed three changes that bear directly on this software: authorising every FFL to keep records in an electronic system by regulation (rescinding the 2016 rulings and the variance route) [A]; cutting retention from permanent to 20 or 30 years [A]; and revising Form 4473 to allow electronic forms and notice, auto-populated fields and a doubled post-NICS performance window [A]. Comments closed in August 2026; no final rule had been published by the end of September. A May 2026 direct final rule letting FFLs verify each other's licences through ATF's eZ Check was withdrawn in July after adverse comments [A]. If finalised, the electronic-records rule lowers the barrier a new compliance product must clear, and the shorter retention shrinks the archive that keeps a dealer on its incumbent — both cut against the incumbents and against any entrant's pricing at the same time. Canada has no bound book or 4473. Since 18 May 2022 (former Bill C-71) a seller must obtain a reference number from the Registrar confirming the buyer's licence before transferring a non-restricted firearm, and businesses must keep sales and inventory records of non-restricted firearms for at least 20 years, held by the business, not the government [A]. Reference numbers are requested through the RCMP's Business Web Services portal or by phone [A]; 421,022 were requested in 2025 [A]. FastBound and Bravo say they serve Canada [C]; no Canadian-built firearms-retail software vendor could be verified. Willingness to pay decides it. The compliance product is priced at a few dollars to tens of dollars a month against roughly 80,000–130,000 US licensees and about 2,400 Canadian businesses, and the store-system money is taken through payments and e-commerce by vendors that already own the catalog and the processing relationship. No vendor publishes revenue and none has disclosed venture funding. How this differs from its neighbours: 4591-specialty-retail-pos-and-inventory-software is general specialty-retail POS (Lightspeed, Shopify, Square) where payments attach decides it; this record is the regulated record-keeping layer and the firearms-specific suites built around it. 5223-regtech-and-compliance-automation is financial-crime compliance for banks and fintechs (NICE Actimize, Verafin) and shares no vendors.

NAICS 45916 vendors named8 sourced figuresOpen →