Digital Shelf & Product Content Software
The buyer population — Food manufacturing
Base industry report for 311 →- Establishments · CanadaA
- 6,868
- Under 10 employeesA
- 48%
- Establishments · USA
- 30,503
- Employment · USA
- 1,652,378
- Payroll · USA
- $89.1B
Of 6,868 Canadian establishments with employees, 48% have fewer than ten — weighted toward mid-sized establishments. Each of those is one potential account, before any filter for size or fit.
Entry signal — what decides who wins here
Structure decidesThe binding constraint is not executional. Being better than the incumbent does not, by itself, get you in — this one is cleared with capital, an asset, or a permission.
Raise or borrow the entry ticket, or buy an operator who has already paid it. The barrier is money rather than permission, so it yields to a balance sheet — and an acquisition is usually cheaper than a start.
Measured, not forecast: the share of US establishments opening in one year that were still active later. It counts good operators and bad ones together, which is exactly why it is the honest answer to “what are the odds”. It is for the whole sector rather than this market, and the ten-year figure comes from an older cohort because no younger one has reached ten years.
This is not a probability of success, and it is not a verdict on you. No survival probability is published per market, and inventing one would be worse than saying so. What the bar reads is how much of the outcome sits inside an operator's control: green means the hurdles are ones a better operator clears, red means the binding constraint is capital, an asset or a permission rather than execution. Someone arriving with an advantage this screen did not assume can win a market shown in red.
Companies named in this market · 5
The binding constraint — entry cost
The product is a retailer integration map, and it takes years and a partner team to build. Salsify raised about $200M at a $2B valuation on the strength of syndicating content to more than 1,000 retailers for brands including P&G, Coca-Cola, Mars and Kraft Heinz; Syndigo holds the other half of the same network. A new entrant must rebuild those connections one retailer at a time while each retailer keeps changing its content requirements — the same moat the EDI record at 419 describes, in a different format.
Sectors joined: Food/Beverage · Food Safety · Food · Healthy Food · Food Tech · CPG Food
[UNVERIFIED] Sector-to-NAICS mapping is analyst judgment — see data/angel-sector-map.json. Counts are a per-record cross-reference and are not additive across records.
The incumbent
Who owns this market and who is coming for it. Fields a screen never reached say so rather than guessing.
Financials & market size — sourced
Figures that came from a filing, a results release or reputable reporting, each carrying its evidence tier.
The field
Every vendor named on this record, and what each one discloses. Most disclose nothing, which is why the market is not sized.
Competitor set · 4 named · 0 disclose revenue
| Name | Revenue | Share | Note |
|---|---|---|---|
| SalsifyC | not disclosed | — | Private; discloses funding ($200M at a $2B valuation) rather than revenue |
| SyndigoC | not disclosed | — | Private equity backed; no disclosure |
| AkeneoC | not disclosed | — | Private; its community edition is open source and sets a floor at the small end |
| Akeneo Community Edition / PimcoreB | not disclosed | — | Open source — the free tier beneath the paid PIM market |
Nobody here publishes revenue. The market is not sized for that reason — an estimate built on nothing would only look like knowledge.
Evidence
Evidence. Incumbent financials on this record ARE sourced (tier A/B, see the financials block). The cut factor and reasoning remain analyst judgment and were not tested against customers.
Where the industry talks
The associations, forums and events where people in this trade actually talk shop — where to listen before entering, and where the first customers are found. Each link was opened on the date shown.
Not-for-profit standards body; runs ECCnet, the Canadian product-content registry retailers pull item data from. Subscriber-based; no count published.
National association of food, health and consumer-products manufacturers, the brand side of product content. Site blocked automated access; confirmed live via search.
US trade association for CPG manufacturers (food, beverage, household, personal care). No member count on its About page.
Brands in its membership community ('more than 2,700'), per its About page. Commerce-marketing and retail-media membership body owned by EnsembleIQ.
Salsify-founded membership community for brand ecommerce and digital-shelf teams; free to join, publishes research and runs the Digital Shelf Summit.
Digital Shelf Institute's podcast on brand ecommerce, retail media and product content; episodes on Amazon, TikTok Shop and content effectiveness.
Salsify / DSI conference for brand digital-commerce teams; next edition 26-28 April 2027, Orlando. A European edition also runs.
The main trade show for grocery and CPG ecommerce where brands and retailers meet; 2026 edition 22-24 September, Las Vegas.
Canadian Grocer (canadiangrocer.com) covers the Canadian grocery trade and is where retailer content requirements get discussed. r/FMCG exists but Reddit blocked verification of recent activity.
The businesses it sells to
Operating-business records filed along the same branch of NAICS — the customers of this software, screened as businesses in their own right.
Shelf space is bought, not won. A new CPG brand pays slotting fees, funds trade promotions, carries the retailer's payment terms and absorbs returns before it learns whether the product sells, and co-manufacturing minimums put the first production run in the tens of thousands of units. The direct-to-consumer route that was supposed to bypass all of that now costs more in paid acquisition than the margin on a grocery-priced item supports. The product content software this industry buys is screened separately at the same code.
The pre-screen dismissed this as feed milling and plant capital. The better half of the code deserves a harder look. Freshpet, the listed pure play in refrigerated pet food, reported 2025 net sales of $1,102.0M, up 13.0%, at a 40.8% gross margin [A]. That is the attraction. The cut is what the growth cost. Freshpet's capital expenditure was $239.1M in 2023, $187.1M in 2024 and $148.2M in 2025 — $574M in three years — and 2025 was its first year of positive free cash flow, $12.4M [A]; it guides to roughly $150M of capital again in 2026 [A]. Over those three years it generated $390.8M from operations [A] and put half as much again into plant. A company with a billion dollars of sales and a differentiated product was still spending more on kitchens than the business threw off. Pet food is made on extrusion, retort or chilled lines in facilities inspected to a standard retailers and export markets will accept, and the product has to be on the shelf, in volume, every week. The Canadian shape says the same thing from the other side: the largest single size band among the 434 establishments is 20–49 employees (31%) [A] — these are plants, not workshops. The way around the plant is a co-packed treat or kibble brand, which is no longer manufacturing; it is the Consumer Packaged Goods Brand Operation already screened at 311, with that record's shelf-access problem intact. Livestock feed, the other half of the code, was not researched.
This is a growing industry, which is not what the pre-screen's "commodity margins" suggests. Statistics Canada reports that Canadian processors crushed a record 11.6 million tonnes of canola in 2025, up 1.6% and the third consecutive annual record, and that domestic crushers took 50.5% of all canola disposition in the 2024/25 crop year against 41.5% exported as seed [A]. More of the crop is now processed where it is grown than leaves the country as seed. The cut is the size of the ticket to take part. When Cargill announced its Regina crush plant it was reported as a $350M facility with one million tonnes of annual capacity [B] — at least $350 of plant for every tonne of yearly throughput, before a tonne of seed is bought. And the plant, once built, sets no price: seed is bought against a futures market, oil and meal are sold against theirs, and the crusher earns the spread the board leaves. That rewards the lowest-cost, best-located, largest plant with its own rail and origination, which is why the builders are global grain houses. Flour milling, wet corn milling and breakfast cereal share the shape: US establishments in this group average 63 employees [A]. The 84 Canadian establishments with fewer than ten employees [A] are stone mills and cold-press oil makers. What they sell is a premium bag of flour or bottle of oil, and that is a packaged-goods brand — screened at 311 — that happens to own a mill.
The pre-screen saw a craft-scale entry with the shape of the bakery record at 3118, and the counts support that there is one: 169 of the 330 Canadian establishments have fewer than ten employees [A]. The sugar end of the code is simply closed — Rogers Sugar is spending $280–300M to add 100,000 tonnes of refining capacity to a business that sold 781,454 tonnes in fiscal 2025 [A], and nobody enters refining beside that. Chocolate and candy are where an entrant can start, and the test is what making them earns. Rocky Mountain Chocolate Factory is a long-established listed brand with its own factory and a captive franchise network to sell through. In fiscal 2026 it reported total revenue of $27.5M, down from $29.6M, and product and retail gross profit of $0.7M — after $0.1M the year before — with a net loss from continuing operations of $4.6M [A]. With the brand, the plant and the channel already in hand, manufacturing confectionery earned it almost nothing. The mechanism differs from bread. Confectionery is bought a few times a year as a gift, against a shelf price set by multinational brands that buy cocoa and sugar at scale, while the small maker buys the same world-priced inputs in pallets. The premium a customer will pay is real but seasonal and capped, and it is paid at the counter — so what works is a shop with a kitchen behind it, which is specialty food retail rather than manufacturing, and is won or lost on the lease.
The pre-screen pointed at small-batch preserving reached through co-packers, and the small end exists: 163 of 376 Canadian establishments have fewer than ten employees [A]. But the group is unusually top-heavy — 60 establishments, 16%, employ a hundred or more [A], and the average US plant has 83 staff [A] — because freezing and canning are harvest-timed, high-throughput operations contracted to growers a season ahead. The question is whether the category rewards anyone for being in it, and the cleanest recent answer is Green Giant. B&G Foods reports a Frozen & Vegetables segment that is primarily that brand. In fiscal 2025 the segment's net sales fell 9.4% to $358.6M and its adjusted EBITDA was –$0.3M, down from +$9.5M [A], on lower volumes, more trade promotion and higher raw-material cost. B&G took $34.8M of impairments on Green Giant in the fourth quarter alone, sold Le Sueur, moved Green Giant Canada to assets held for sale, and closed the sale of the Green Giant US frozen line on 2 March 2026 [A]. One of the best-known names in the freezer aisle earned nothing on a third of a billion dollars of sales, and its owner's response was to leave. When the category is shrinking under private label, a new processor is not competing for growth. It is competing to be the lowest-cost supplier of a retailer's own brand, against plants that are already depreciated. The small-batch jam, pickle or sauce maker sits outside that fight, but it is a brand selling through shelf and market stall, and is screened as Consumer Packaged Goods Brand Operation at 311.
Dairy processing in Canada is a good business to already be in. Saputo's Canada sector reported fiscal 2026 revenues of $5.423B, up 5.0% on higher volumes, with adjusted EBITDA of $697M — a 12.9% margin [A]. The same company's consolidated margin across all its sectors, most of them outside supply management, was 9.5% [A]: its regulated home market is where it earns the most. That is how the system is built. Under supply management a processor does not negotiate for milk. It buys from a provincial marketing board at an administered price, by end-use class, in a volume the board allocates, and imports that would undercut the result are held out by tariff-rate quotas. Everyone pays the same for the input and no one can be undersold from abroad, so margin goes to whoever has the plant scale, the allocation history and the retail listings. For an entrant that stability is the wall. A new plant needs a licence, an inspected facility and a milk allocation before it sells a litre, and the volume available to a newcomer is what the board's new-entrant or artisan programme releases, not what the business plan calls for. The small end is real — 153 of 434 establishments have fewer than ten employees, and Quebec alone has 150 plants [A], most of them fromageries — but those are farm-linked cheesemakers selling a regional premium, often processing their own quota milk. Reaching that position means entering dairy farming, where the quota is the capital. The pre-screen said supply-managed and plant-heavy; the first half is the one that binds.
Other software on this branch
FSMA 204 gives the category a dated regulatory trigger, which is the strongest demand signal in this batch — but the buyer is reached through GFSI certifying bodies and third-party auditors, not through search or self-serve. That channel is owned by the auditors and by the incumbents who sponsor them, and an entrant with no audit relationship has no route in. Nothing is disclosed here. Every vendor named on this record is private, or sits inside a parent that does not break the line out, so no revenue floor can be built and the market size is genuinely unknown rather than estimated.
Food and beverage ERP is the system of record a food maker runs the plant and the books on: formulas and recipe scaling, lot genealogy from ingredient receipt to finished case, catch weight, shelf life and expiry, allergen and nutrition data for the label, co-packer runs, retailer EDI and the traceability records regulators ask for. The anchor buyer is NAICS 3119 (snack foods, coffee and tea, seasonings, dressings and the rest of 'other food'), but the same software is sold across 3111–3118 (animal food, grain and oilseed, sugar and confectionery, fruit and vegetable preserving, dairy, meat, seafood, bakery) and 3121 (beverages). The market is held by industry-specialist roll-ups and by the horizontal giants' food editions, and both are well funded. Aptean is the clearest specialist consolidator: it bought IndustryBuilt of Mississauga, Ontario — maker of JustFood, a food and beverage ERP on Microsoft Dynamics — in March 2018, with more than 130 staff [A, Aptean release], and now sells a food and beverage ERP built on Dynamics 365 Business Central alongside its process-manufacturing lines [C]. Its owners are TA Associates (lead shareholder since October 2022), Insight Partners, Charlesbank and, since July 2024, Clearlake Capital; it says it serves 10,000+ customers in 80+ countries across all its verticals [C]. ECI Software Solutions bought Deacom (Chesterbrook, Pennsylvania), an ERP for batch and process manufacturers, in September 2021 [A]; ECI is co-controlled by Leonard Green and Apax, with a new GIC investment, since February 2025 [A]. Infor sells CloudSuite Food & Beverage and has been wholly owned by Koch Industries since April 2020 [A]; Rockwell Automation bought Plex for $2.22B in cash (about $2.15B after adjustments) in 2021 [A] and markets it to food and beverage plants for traceability and compliance [C]; Acumatica agreed in May 2025 to be acquired by Vista Equity Partners [B]. SAP, Oracle NetSuite, Sage X3 and Microsoft Dynamics (through partners such as Aptean, Inecta, Vicinity and BatchMaster) are present everywhere [C]. Below them sit long-tenured specialists — BatchMaster (Irvine, California; '40+ years' of process-manufacturing practice, sold standalone or bolted onto QuickBooks, Sage, SAP Business One or Dynamics) [C], SYSPRO [C], Inecta (New York, with an office in Hamilton, Ontario; founded 2001; Business Central-based food ERP) [C] and Vicinity Software (Marietta, Georgia; extends Dynamics for food, chemical and brewing formula manufacturers) [C] — and at the small end, general manufacturing tools such as Katana ($35M Series B led by Northzone, 2022) [B] and Wherefour [C]. Regulation is the obvious opening, and it has moved away. FDA's Food Traceability Rule (FSMA 204) required compliance by 20 January 2026; FDA proposed a 30-month extension to 20 July 2028, and the Continuing Appropriations … Extensions Act of 2026 then directed FDA not to enforce the rule before that date [A, fda.gov]. The forcing date is now almost two years out. In Canada, the Safe Food for Canadians Regulations already require one-step-forward, one-step-back traceability records, a lot code on the label and two years of record retention [A, inspection.canada.ca] — a requirement incumbents already ship for, not a new one. Lock-in is the decisive fact. A food maker's ERP holds every formula, costed bill of materials, allergen matrix, lot history and retailer EDI map; changing it means re-validating labels and recall procedures in a plant that ships daily. The independent Canadian specialist that existed — IndustryBuilt — is already inside Aptean. Incumbent vulnerability decides it: there is no unserved segment, the regulatory trigger slipped, and the specialists are backed by TA, Clearlake, Leonard Green, Apax, Koch and Rockwell. How this differs from its neighbours: 311-food-safety-and-traceability-software is the compliance layer that sits beside the ERP (Trustwell, TraceGains, SafetyChain — supplier documents, audits, HACCP records), not the inventory, costing and production system of record; 3241-process-manufacturing-and-refining-software is continuous-process modelling for refineries and chemicals (AspenTech, AVEVA); 541514-erp-enterprise-resource-planning is the horizontal ERP market, whose vendors appear here only in their food editions; 418-wholesale-distribution-erp-and-route-accounting is distributors' ERP (rebates, route settlement), where Aptean also appears. There is no brewery, winery and distillery software record; 3121-craft-beverage-production is the operator record. Tecsys (Montreal) was checked as a possible Canadian vendor and is a warehouse and supply-chain software house serving healthcare and distribution, not a food ERP. Nulogy (Toronto) is named because it is the Canadian software that co-packers and contract manufacturers for CPG brands run on, but it sits beside the ERP rather than replacing it.
More are listed on the base industry report.