Minot, North Dakota

Minot's owner of record is public parcel by parcel on Ward County's own open map layer: the City, the Park District and the school district hold the most ground, a single developer holds the most lots, and the mall is held by CBL & Associates subsidiaries.

8 buildings · 8 with an owner established · 11 sources · 7 tier A · 1 tier B · prepared 2026-11-01

Can you find out who owns it?

North Dakota keeps no state title register; ownership is read from county records. Ward County publishes its parcel layer (owner of record, legal description, address, acreage, school district) on its ArcGIS Parcel Viewer with free public queries, and the City of Minot assesses property inside the city. Deeds are recorded by the Ward County Recorder; North Dakota law requires the full consideration paid to be certified on the face of most deeds, so recorded deeds carry prices, but the statewide online deed index (NDRIN) is a $30-per-30-days subscription.

Is ownership public?An open dataset names the owner
Cost of one title searchOwner of record free (Ward County Parcel Viewer / parcel layer). Deed images: NDRIN '$30 charge which gives you access to NDRIN for 30-days' plus '$1 per page cost if you choose to print documents'
Bulk ownership dataWard County ND Parcels feature layer (ArcGIS Online, services2.arcgis.com/tvgNL3LD8EYwagwG), 41,372 parcels countywide, 19,329 with Minot (MI) parcel numbers; owner of record, legal description, address, acreage, school district; free unauthenticated query, no licence stated; no values in the layer
Sale pricesEvery sale, with its address
1

The marquee buildings

The towers that set the tone of the core, and who holds them. A price is the price a document states, on the date it states — not an estimate of what the building is worth now.

BuildingUseOwner Owner typeLast price paid
Minot City Hall (former Wells Fargo building)
10 3rd Ave SW
Civic City of Minot
The City bought the former Wells Fargo building downtown to move City Hall and Central Dispatch out of a potential flood zone, a project in its $74.3M HUD National Disaster Resilience action plan; the relocation was put at about $12 million, $7.75 million of it from CDBG-NDR. The City's site now gives 10 3rd Ave SW as its address. The parcel layer carries no row with that street address, so the roll parcel was not matched; the old City Hall at 515 2nd Ave SW is a 9.87-acre City of Minot parcel on the roll.
Government $2.601M
2021-02-23
The City's own blog: 'On Feb. 23, we signed paperwork to officially purchase the former Wells Fargo building' for '$2.601 million', paid with CDBG-NDR funds.
A
Dakota Square Mall
2400 10th St SW
740,844 sq ft (total center); 222,552 sq ft in-line GLA
Retail CBL & Associates Properties (Dakota Square Mall CMBS, LLC and CBL Dakota Square PropCo LLCs)
100%
CBL's 2025 10-K lists Dakota Square Mall, Minot: opened 1980, acquired 2012, CBL ownership 100%, 740,844 sq ft, in-line sales $312/sq ft, 81% leased; anchors AMC, Barnes & Noble, JC Penney, Scheels, Target. CBL says it leases 'all or a portion of the land' at Dakota Square under a long-term ground lease. On the county layer the 49.6-acre main lot is in 'Dakota Square Mall CMBS LLC', and outlots (Scheels lot 6.2 ac and others) in CBL Dakota Square Lot 8 PropCo and Mall OP PropCo I-III LLCs; all five entities appear in CBL's Exhibit 21. No purchase price for the mall was read.
REIT —A
Minot International Airport (MOT)
North Minot, off N Broadway / 2nd St NE
Civic City of Minot
The City's 2024 ACFR runs the airport as a City enterprise fund: Airport fund land $2,924,003 and buildings $52,931,831 at cost, one terminal, Airport Revenue Bonds for 'Airport Terminal and Grounds Construction' ($28.52M, to 2035), and since 1 Aug 2021 a five-year agreement with LAZ Parking Midwest, LLC to 'operate and manage the parking' - management, not ownership. The City also leases out hangars there. On the county layer an 'AIRPORT LEASE SITE' parcel (16.2 ac, 3420 2nd St NE) and an Airport Industrial Park lot are in City of Minot's name; the largest Minot-numbered parcels near the field carry no owner name, so the terminal parcel itself was not matched.
Government —A
Trinity Health Healthcare Campus and Medical District (Trinity Health Hospital and medical office building)
2305 37th Ave SW
Hospital about 600,000 sq ft; six-storey MOB attached · 6 floors
Institutional Trinity Health
County layer: 'TRINITY HEALTH', Trinity Health Addition Lot 1, 2305 37th Ave SW, 43.5 acres, with a further 29.1-acre lot in Trinity Health 3rd Addition. Trinity Health's own release of 29 April 2023 (s10, second source): the campus opened 30 April 2023; 'The 43-acre campus is home to both the new hospital and attached MOB'; the hospital 'is six stories tall, occupies about 600,000 square feet'; 'The $550 million dollar project'; 'Additional acreage is available for future campus expansion'. The old downtown campus at 1 Burdick Expy W is still in Trinity Health's name on the layer. $550M is a project cost, not a purchase price.
Institution —B
Minot State University campus
500 University Ave W
Institutional State of North Dakota
County layer: 'STATE OF NORTH DAKOTA', unplatted SE1/4 NE1/4 Sec 14-155-83 at 500 University Ave W, 75.1 acres - the main campus parcel - plus smaller parcels in the names 'NORTH DAKOTA MINOT STATE COLLEGE' (25.0 ac), 'NORTH DAKOTA STATE FOR MINOT STATE' (5.2 ac) and 'NORTH DAKOTA STATE BOARD OF HIGHER EDUCATION' (3.8 ac). The separate Minot State University Development Foundation holds 19 parcels (8.5 ac) near campus and downtown. The ACFR lists Minot State University as the city's sixth-largest employer (422, 2024).
Government —A
Ward County Courthouse
315 3rd St SE
Civic Ward County
County layer: 'WARD COUNTY', Ramstads Riverview S/D Block 3 plus half of vacated 3rd Ave SE, 315 3rd St SE, 1.6 acres. Ward County holds 55 Minot-numbered parcels (64.2 ac) in all, the largest 37.5 acres at 200 72nd St SE in Energy Park Fifth Addition. Ward County employed 300 in 2024 (City ACFR).
Government —A
North Dakota State Fair grounds
Burdick Expy E / 4th Ave SE
Civic North Dakota State Fair Association
County layer: 12 Minot-numbered parcels, 46.6 acres, in the names 'ND STATE FAIR ASSOCIATION', 'N D STATE FAIR ASS'N' and 'NORTH DAKOTA STATE FAIR ASSOCIATION' - among them 10.0 ac at 1803 1st Ave SE, 9.9 ac at 2007 Burdick Expy E, 4.7 ac at 2501 Burdick Expy E and 11.0 ac in Magic City Industrial Park at 2901 4th Ave SE. These are the Association's titled lots; the layer does not label the fairground buildings, and adjoining public parcels were not matched to the grounds, so the full fairground footprint is not stated here.
Institution —A
Minot Public Schools high-school sites
2100 21st Ave NW; 1100 11th Ave SW
Institutional Minot Public School District No. 1
County layer: 'MINOT PUBLIC SCHOOL DISTRICT #1', 'MINOT HS 2 ADDITION' Lot 1 at 2100 21st Ave NW, 74.8 acres (the plat name marks a high-school site), and 'MINOT PUBLIC SCHOOL DISTRICT 1', outlots 18-20 Sec 23-155-83 at 1100 11th Ave SW, 60.1 acres. The layer names no buildings, so which school stands on the 1100 11th Ave SW parcel is not stated here. Under both spellings the district holds 245 Minot parcels, 302.9 acres; it was the city's third-largest employer (1,027) in 2024 per the ACFR.
Government —A
2

The core land

The most valuable ground in the city, and what the public record says about it.

North Dakota assesses at 50% of 'true and full value'; the City of Minot's assessor values property inside the city and the Ward County layer carries no values, so these figures come from the City's ACFR.

Highest taxable value, 2024$2,840,700 (Dakota Square Mall CMBS LLC)
City ACFR FY2024, Principal Property Taxpayers, 0.11% of the total; taxable value of commercial property 'is 5% of actual market value per state statute', which would put the mall's market value near $57M (our arithmetic, not a stated figure).
City true and full value, 2024$5,067,648,327
City ACFR FY2024, Assessed Value and Estimated Actual Value of Taxable Property; total assessed value $2,533,824,163 at 50%: commercial land and buildings $1,008,462,870, residential $1,495,304,733, public utilities $30,056,560.
City-owned land at cost, 2024$121,253,382
City ACFR FY2024 capital assets: governmental $111,607,977 plus business-type $9,645,405 (Airport $2,924,003).
3

Who owns the town

At this scale the significant owner is rarely a trust or a fund: it is one or two local holding companies, a family in its second or third generation, and often the land around the town rather than the buildings in it.

Counts are Ward County parcel-layer rows whose parcel number starts 'MI' (City of Minot), 19,329 parcels and 14,778 mapped acres on 2026-11-01, summed across spelling variants of the same owner name; streets and most rail right-of-way are not parcels (the City's ACFR gives 27.73 sq mi, about 17,750 acres). 281 Minot parcels, 1,066 acres, carry no owner name at all, including the largest single parcels near the airport. Public bodies hold the most ground: the City, the Park District and the school district together about 2,140 acres. Outside the city, Minot Air Force Base (about 12 miles north, 12,825 employees in 2024 per the ACFR) is federal land not in these counts.

NameTypeMinot parcels / acres (county layer)
City of Minot
Includes 'CITY OF MINOT' and 'CITY OF MINOT C/O CITY AUDITOR'; largest are unplatted tracts in Sec 7-155-82 (156.8 and 131.0 ac) and Rosehill Cemetery (65.7 ac). Plus 2 parcels (37.8 ac) held jointly with the Park District. The ACFR puts City land at $121.3M at cost (2024).
Government 675 parcels / 999 acresA
Minot Park District
Largest: 238.9 ac at 4600 County Rd 15 W (Family Recreation Addition) and 174.5 ac at 720 16th St SW.
Government 87 parcels / 837 acresA
Minot Area Development Corporation
Industrial and agricultural development land: 236.8 ac and 160.2 ac unplatted in Sec 16 and Sec 8-155-82, and the Minot Ag Complex additions on 42nd St NE (120.9, 50.2, 26.2 ac).
Institution 9 parcels / 668 acresA
Minot Public School District No. 1
Under 'MINOT PUBLIC SCHOOL DISTRICT #1' and '... DISTRICT 1'. Nedrose School District holds a further 34.8 ac.
Government 245 parcels / 303 acresA
State of North Dakota (incl. Minot State University and higher-education boards)
Main campus parcel 75.1 ac at 500 University Ave W; 28.4 ac at 1305 Highway 2 Byp E.
Government 14 parcels / 144 acresA
Trinity Health
Includes 'TRINITY HOSPITALS'. New campus 43.5 + 29.1 ac in southwest Minot; old downtown campus parcels on Burdick Expy W and 3rd Ave SW.
Institution 40 parcels / 119 acresA
Ward County
Courthouse 1.6 ac; 37.5 ac in Energy Park Fifth Addition. Ward County Water Management District holds a further 3.2 ac.
Government 55 parcels / 64 acresA
North Dakota State Fair Association
Three spellings on the layer.
Institution 12 parcels / 47 acresA
United States (Army National Guard Reserve Center, Postal Service, federal building)
'UNITED STATES OF AMERICA' 20.6 ac at 1500 University Ave W; 'ARMY NATIONAL GUARD RESERVE CENTER' 20.6 ac in Airport Industrial Park; USPS 2.1 ac at 117 5th Ave SW; 'UNITED STATES GOVERNMENT' 0.5 ac at 100 1st St SW.
Government 4 parcels / 44 acresA
Minot Housing Authority
Includes 310 2nd St SE and 108 Burdick Expy E.
Government 27 parcels / 8.3 acresA
Railroads: Soo Line Railroad Company; BNSF (Burlington Northern & Santa Fe)
Only titled parcels; the main-line right-of-way through Minot is largely not carried as parcels on this layer. BNSF employed 330 in Minot in 2024 (ACFR).
Public company Soo Line 17 parcels / 3.7 ac; BNSF 12 parcels / 5.2 acA
Utilities: Montana-Dakota Utilities; Northern States Power; Central Power Electric Cooperative; Verendrye Electric; SRT Communications
Northern States Power Co was the city's second-largest taxpayer in 2024 (taxable value $1,714,393, ACFR) and MDU eighth ($905,619). Verendrye and Central Power are cooperatives; SRT is a telecom cooperative.
Public company MDU 13 / 6.7 ac; Northern States Power 1 / 9.9 ac; Central Power 4 / 22.9 ac; Verendrye 1 / 20.2 ac; SRT 13 / 17.9 acA
5

Who builds the houses

New-home building in this market: the volume, and the firms behind it. Ownership of a builder matters as much as its volume — a private-equity platform and a family firm behave differently.

Minot is a small, local new-home market: no starts league table covers it, and the City's permit counts by builder were not read. What the county layer does show is who holds the platted lots in the newer subdivisions, which is where building happens. Figures below are parcels held on 2026-11-01, not homes built; company names only.

NameTypeMinot parcels held (county layer)
Stonehaven Development LLC
The single largest holder of parcels in the city: 55th Crossing, 4th and 5th Additions (232, 146 and 240 lots), south Minot.
Developer 680 parcels / 279.5 acA
Lakeland Dakota Homes LLC
Bolton Heights 2nd and 5th Additions.
Developer 169 parcels / 65.4 acA
Mystery Ranch LLC
Skyport 6th, 9th and 13th Additions, northwest Minot.
Developer 115 parcels / 17.1 acA
Double J Martin ND LLC
Magic Meadows Addition, 21st Ave SW area.
Private company 107 parcels / 25.1 acA
Hudye Group LP
Prairie Wynd 4th and 5th Additions and Northern Plains Energy Park lots.
Private company 96 parcels / 92.4 acA
Four Seasons Construction, Inc.
Two spellings. Other builders on the layer: Southwest Crossing Partners, LLC (75 / 66.2 ac), Rivers Edge Development, LLC (57), PWNREV Stonebridge Owner, LLC (49, Stonebridge Farms 5th), Artec Homes LLC (21), Mattson Construction Co (19), Mindt Construction, Inc (15), Rosenthal Homes LLC (13), Liechty Homes Inc (5 / 53.4 ac).
Private company 96 parcels / 16.6 acA
6

Commercial landlords

The commercial side, counted separately from housing: who holds the office, retail and industrial floor area.

No REIT or association publishes a Minot league table; the City's ACFR ranks the largest property taxpayers by 2024 taxable value (the footnote says commercial taxable value is 5% of market value), read here with the county layer's parcel counts. Holders are named as entities only.

NameType2024 taxable value (City ACFR)
CBL & Associates Properties (Dakota Square Mall CMBS, LLC)
Dakota Square Mall; the CMBS LLC and the CBL Dakota Square PropCo LLCs are all in CBL's Exhibit 21 (s8).
REIT $2,840,700 - rank 1 (also rank 1 in 2015, $4,294,650)A
MIMG CCXXXI Commons Sub LLC / Plaza Sub LLC / South Pointe Sub LLC; MIMG CCXLVIII The Wyatt Sub, LLC
County layer: 10 parcels, 53.9 acres, in southwest Minot (Southgate Fourth, IRET First and Second, Prairie Green 6th Additions) plus a 15.0-acre parcel at 1410 30th Ave NW. The ACFR names the entities; who stands behind MIMG was not established.
Private company $1,545,000 (Commons, rank 3) + $853,750 (Plaza, rank 11)A
EWR Minot entities (EWR Minot North Highlands Apartments LLC and about 20 others)
County layer: 169 parcels, 106.5 acres, under 21 'EWR' names - apartments (Dakota Terrace, Kenwood, Lindenwood, Emerald Court, Morgan, Elk Pointe, Paramount, Gateway), offices and a medical office building, and 46 condo units held by EWR Minot Heights Condos LLC. The parent was not established.
Private company $1,094,150 (North Highlands, rank 6); EWR Minot Woodside Willow LLC $651,150; EWR Minot Meadow Ridge Apartments LLC $564,100A
SUSO 3 Southgate LP
County layer: 5 parcels on 16th St SW, Southgate Fourth Addition, the largest 11.6 acres.
Private company $1,157,300 - rank 5 (also rank 5 in 2015)A
Sail Properties LLC
County layer: 12 parcels, 17.5 acres, on Broadway S, 20th Ave SW and 1st St SW (two spellings).
Private company $892,750 - rank 9A
ARHC MMMINND01 LLC and ARHC WEMINND01 LLC
County layer: 2.4 ac at 400 Burdick Expy E and 8.9 ac at 601 24th Ave SW. The parent behind the ARHC names was not established.
Private company $793,300 - rank 13 (rank 3 in 2015, $1,320,250)A
Dakota Upreit Limited (c/o SMC)
County layer: 5 parcels on 20th Ave SW, about 6 acres.
Private company $694,200 - rank 19A
INREIT Properties LLLP
Not in the ACFR top 20; 11.9 ac at 5015 Hwy 2 E and four lots at 212-216 Broadway S.
REIT 8 parcels / 12.6 acres (county layer)A
?

Looked for and not found

Claims this page would have made if a source could be opened. They are left out rather than guessed.

  • The parcel under Minot City Hall (10 3rd Ave SW): the City's purchase is stated, but no layer row carries that address.
  • Who stands behind MIMG CCXXXI/CCXLVIII, EWR Minot, ARHC, SUSO 3 and Dakota Upreit - entity names come from the ACFR and county layer; no filing naming their parents was read.
  • Whether the large unnamed parcels north of the city (493.9, 197.7 and 80.1 acres) are the airport's - they carry no owner name or legal description on the layer.
  • Deed prices: North Dakota requires full consideration on the face of most deeds, but no deed was read (NDRIN is a paid subscription), so no sale price other than the City's own purchase is stated.
  • New-home starts by builder: Minot building-permit counts by contractor were not read; the builder figures are lots held, not homes built.
  • Ward County's participation in NDRIN was not confirmed on NDRIN's own county page.
§

Sources

  1. Ward County ND Parcels (WC_Parcels) feature layer, queried 2026-11-01: owner of record, PIN, acreage, address, legal description, school district — Ward County, North Dakota (ArcGIS Online) · openA
  2. Ward County Parcel Viewer (Web AppBuilder app configuration naming the parcel layer) — Ward County, North Dakota · openA
  3. Property Tax (links to the Parcel Viewer and the Tyler tax portal) — Ward County · openA
  4. N.D.C.C. chapter 11-18, section 11-18-02.2 Statements of full consideration to be filed with recorder — North Dakota Legislative Branch · openA
  5. NDRIN Subscribers FAQ - What does NDRIN cost? — North Dakota Recorders Information Network · openA
  6. Mayor's blog, 5 March 2021: purchase of the former Wells Fargo building for City Hall — City of Minot · openA
  7. CBL & Associates Properties, Inc. Form 10-K for 2025 (Item 2 mall table; Schedule III) — U.S. SEC EDGAR · openA
  8. CBL & Associates Properties, Inc. Exhibit 21 subsidiaries (FY2025 10-K) — U.S. SEC EDGAR · openA
  9. City of Minot Annual Comprehensive Financial Report, fiscal year ended 31 Dec 2024 (Principal Property Taxpayers p.160; Principal Employers p.169; Assessed Value p.157; Airport fund statements) — City of Minot Finance Department · openA
  10. Dear Minot Community and the Region-at-Large (news release, 29 April 2023) — Trinity Health · openA
  11. Terms of Use (page carries no stated restrictions in its body) — Trinity Health · openA